July Meeting Notice – Kentucky Heritage Council

Release Date       Contact: Diane Comer
IMMEDIATE       502-564-7005, ext. 120
Monday, July 29, 2013     

FRANKFORT, Ky. – The Kentucky Heritage Council (KHC) will meet at 1 p.m. EDT Wednesday, July 31, at Paul Sawyier Public Library, 319 Wapping St., Frankfort. The meeting is open to the public and an agenda will be provided.

Heritage Council members are Robert W. Griffith, Big Spring, chairman; Stephen L. Collins, Shelbyville, vice chairman; Teresa T. Bailey, Bowling Green; Christopher J. Black, Paducah; Linda K. Breathitt, Brenda P. McClanahan, Jennifer Beth Miller and Jenny Greer Stringer, all of Lexington; Virginia W. Butler, Maysville; Helen W. Dedman, Harrodsburg; Betsy R. Kuster, Paris; Nancy “Nana” Lampton, Goshen; Norma G. Rapier, Bardstown; Kathleen M. Smith and C. William Weyland, Louisville; and Julie R. Wagner, Danville.

An agency of the Kentucky Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet, the Kentucky Heritage Council / State Historic Preservation Office is responsible for the identification, protection and preservation of prehistoric resources and historic buildings, sites and cultural resources throughout the Commonwealth, in partnership with other state and federal agencies, local communities and interested citizens. This includes Section 106 Review of federally funded projects; an archaeology component, encompassing education and the Kentucky Archaeological Survey, a partnership between KHC and the University of Kentucky Department of Anthropology; administering state and federal rehabilitation tax credit programs, the Kentucky Main Street Program, and the National Register of Historic Places program in Kentucky; historic sites survey; preservation planning; the Certified Local Government (CLG) Program; and staff support for the Kentucky African American Heritage Commission, Kentucky Native American Heritage Commission and Kentucky Military Heritage Commission.

Learn more at www.heritage.ky.gov.

# # #




About & Help


Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Logo

© 2015 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.


Back to Top