Today, at the 2013 PNC/KHSAA Boys’ Sweet Sixteen State Basketball Tournament, Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes recognized nine Kentucky educators and community leaders for their work to promote civic education across the Commonwealth.

“I am constantly inspired by young Kentuckians who exhibit the values, skills and enthusiasm that are the hallmarks of responsible citizens,” said Grimes. “I know that behind each of them is an unsung hero who invested his or her own talents and energy into the success of this state and its youth, and this award is a great opportunity to recognize them for their outstanding work.”

The Kentucky Outstanding Civic Education Leadership Award recognizes teachers, school administrators, legislators and community leaders who have made notable contributions toward promoting or implementing civic learning to prepare students to be active and engaged in their communities.

Rick Blackwell from Mercy Academy in Louisville received the 2013 Kentucky Outstanding Civic Education Leadership Award. Blackwell spent 20 years in the classroom before assuming the role of Service Learning and Leadership Coordinator. Beyond simply creating service opportunities, his program teaches and enables students to create change in their community and world and is recognized nationally as a model for service learning.

The other finalists are:

• Marshall Ward (Calloway County High School)
• Michael T. Baker (Hancock County Industrial Foundation)
• Lisa White (Russellville Independent Schools)
• Timothy Holman (DuPont Manual High School)
• Lindsay Duke (Grant County High School)
• Brian McDowell (Mason County Middle School)
• Helen Williams (Hazard High School)
• Kelly J. Wilson (Bath County Schools)

Each finalist received a plaque and was recognized at center court of Rupp Arena, thanks to the PNC/KHSAA Boys’ Sweet Sixteen Basketball Tournament organizers. In addition, Blackwell received a $500 award to be used for school resources and equipment. Awards and prizes were made possible by the contest’s co-sponsors, the Kentucky Administrative Office of the Courts and Kentucky Department of Education.




About & Help


Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Logo

© 2015 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.


Back to Top