Kentucky Attorney General Jack Conway today announced the arrest of Cody Burton from Burnside, Ky. on two counts of knowing neglect of a vulnerable adult in violation of KRS 209.990(2) and one count of failure to report the neglect of a vulnerable adult in violation of KRS 209.030(2). Burton, 21, was arrested Wednesday night at his home by deputies with the Pulaski County Sheriff's Office acting on a warrant obtained by investigators assigned to the Office of the Attorney General's (OAG) Medicaid Fraud and Abuse Control Division and the Department of Criminal Investigations.

Burton is an employee of Oakwood Manor in Somerset. Burton's arrest follows the September 16 arrest of Coty King, another Oakwood employee, who was charged with enticing one developmentally disabled adult patient at the facility to hit another disabled patient and recording video of the incident on his cellular telephone. Burton is accused of participating in the incident and failing to report it. Personnel at the Oakwood Manor facility notified an OAG investigator Monday after learning about the incident.

"My office is working hard to help protect our most vulnerable citizens, but all Kentuckians play an important role," General Conway said. "I encourage anyone who suspects abuse of a patient in a nursing home, Medicaid facility or personal care home to immediately report it to our office using our tip line at 1-877-ABUSE TIP."

Pending his arraignment, Burton was lodged in the Pulaski County Detention Center. King had an arraignment in Pulaski County District Court on Wednesday. The Pulaski County Attorney's Office is handling the initial prosecution of this matter.

Violations of KRS 209.990(2) are Class C felonies punishable by up to five to 10 years in prison. Violations of KRS 209.030(2) are Class B misdemeanors punishable by up to 90 days in prison.

All persons accused of a crime are presumed innocent until convicted in a court of law.

Photo: http://www.flickr.com/photos/kyoag/9819755463/



About & Help


Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Logo

© 2015 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.


Back to Top