Storms caused flooding, hail damage in many eastern Kentucky counties last week

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Steve Beshear has declared a state of emergency for a dozen counties after severe storms swept through Kentucky beginning April 15, causing widespread damage.  The affected counties are Bell, Clay, Crittenden, Harlan, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Owsley, Rockcastle and Whitley.

“The declaration is a part of the process to identify what assistance is needed in these counties because of the storms,” Gov. Beshear said. “We will work with local and federal officials to measure damage and make sure each community has access to appropriate resources.” 

Gov. Beshear has requested Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Kentucky Emergency Management (KYEM) to conduct joint preliminary damage assessments (PDA) in the listed counties to determine if Kentucky may qualify to request federal assistance.

Residents of these counties should contact their local emergency management officials to report any damage to their property.  A list of county emergency management officials can be found at the Kentucky Emergency Management website:  http://kyem.ky.gov/sitecontacts/Documents/County%20EM%20Directors.pdf.




About & Help


Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Logo

© 2015 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.


Back to Top