Event Honors Graduates of Lt. Governor’s STEM Challenge and Women’s History Month 'History Makers'

Contact: Andrea Hutchins

FRANKFORT, Ky. (May 10, 2017) – Lt. Gov. Jenean Hampton and the Kentucky Commission on Women (KCW) hosted a celebration to honor two groups at the Taylor Education Building on the University of Kentucky campus yesterday evening.

The first group honored were winners of the “Women Making History” award. KCW sought nominations from around the state for the award. The award recognizes women who mentor or serve as role models for women and girls as they work toward making their own mark on history. KCW featured a different award winner each week during Women’s History Month on several news and social media outlets.

Award recipients included:

  • Lindy Karns, Lexington
  • Duanne Puckett, Shelbyville
  • Dr. Carolyn Sundy, Cumberland
  • Marlana Pressley-Wallace, Lexington

“The importance of positive role models and mentors for females cannot be overestimated,” said Cordelia Harbut, KCW executive director. “It is important to promote these relations so that more women have these important relations to guide and support them as they create their own history.”

Thirty seventh-grade girls who completed the Lt. Governor’s STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) Challenge were also recognized. The students from Leestown and Tates Creek middle schools were pinned with the Lt. Governor’s Challenge pin and given certificates of completion and a Living Arts and Science Center gift certificate to further their interest in STEM.

“We wanted to challenge these young ladies to consider future careers in STEM-related fields,” said Lt. Gov. Hampton. “The program was designed to introduce them to technical options and opportunities that they may not have considered.”

The program also recognized participating presenters and teachers.

For additional information, please contact the Kentucky Commission on Women at 502-564-2611 or kcw@ky.gov.



About & Help


Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Logo

© 2015 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.


Back to Top