Gov. Bevin, Lt. Gov. Hampton, and Sec. Glisson Honor State’s Volunteers

Contact: Woody Maglinger

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Aug. 29, 2017) – Gov. Matt Bevin, Lt. Gov. Jenean Hampton and Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services (CHFS) Secretary Vickie Yates Brown Glisson honored 15 individuals and four groups from across Kentucky for their volunteer and service contributions at the 22nd annual Governor’s Service Awards today.

The annual awards are coordinated by the Kentucky Commission on Community Volunteerism and Service (KCCVS), part of the CHFS.

Nine former KCCVS commissioners and program directors who went above and beyond to further service in Kentucky were also recognized at the Capitol Rotunda event.

Gov. Bevin praised the spirit of volunteerism embodied by Kentuckians, who seek to help their neighbors.

“The impact that AmeriCorps and other volunteer programs have in this state is literally impossible to measure, and I'm grateful to all of you who serve,” said Gov. Bevin. “These awards are a small token of our appreciation. What you've done—your example and its ripple effect—is truly immeasurable.”

Lt. Gov. Hampton challenged citizens to follow the example set by the individuals and groups being honored.

“As I travel around Kentucky, I am privileged to meet lots of people who want to do something to make the Commonwealth a better place,” said Lt. Gov. Hampton. “I congratulate all of today's honorees and encourage each one of us to do our own part in our own way.”

Sec. Glisson noted the significant impact that the award winners make in their communities.

“From fighting opioid abuse to mentoring at-risk youth and serving meals to seniors, these volunteers are meeting needs at the local level,” said Glisson. “They show that every one of us has talent and time to do something good. For their wide-reaching contributions, they are Commonwealth’s shining stars.”

KCCVS Executive Director Joe Bringardner said the Governor’s Office launched the volunteer awards program in 1975. Since 1995, KCCVS has administered the program.

“Kentucky is fortunate to have an incredible force of who Gov. Bevin calls “servant leaders”—those who dedicate themselves to helping others. We honor the best of the best here today.”

For more information about the Governor’s Service Awards, Kentucky’s AmeriCorps programs or volunteerism, call the KCCVS at 502-564-7420 or visit their website at www.chfs.ky.gov/ServeKY.

A list of honorees, their nominators and hometowns follows.

2017 Governor’s Service Award Recipients

Group Awards:

  • Citi Bank – Florence/Boone County: Nominated by Lauren Palmer
  • Hope House – Bowling Green/Warren County: Nominated by Kevin Mays
  • Northeast Christian Church – Louisville/Jefferson County: Nominated by Laura Ryan
  • Toward A Sustainable Kentucky (TASK) VISTA AmeriCorps Program – Statewide: Nominated by Kristen Hedgebeth

Student Awards:

  • Rebecca Dever – Louisville/Jefferson County: Nominated by Laura Ryan
  • Salma Geneidy – Lexington/Fayette County: Nominated by Kerby Gilstrap
  • Sarah Haney – Louisville/Jefferson County: Nominated by Alex Muckler
  • Virginia “Ginny” Reams – Louisville/Jefferson County: Nominated by Kayla Payne

Individual Awards:

  • Lauren Gabbard – Highland Heights/Campbell County: Nominated by Paige Molina
  • Mitch Haralson – Covington/Kenton County: Nominated by Regina Owens
  • Amanda Jackson – Ashland/Boyd County: Nominated by Caitlin Szabo
  • Lauren Kinser – Somerset/Pulaski County: Nominated by Paige Molina
  • Nigel Masamvu – Florence/Boone County: Nominated by Lauren Palmer
  • Harold McDaniel – Cox’s Creek/Nelson County: Nominated by Jon Auslander-Price
  • Alison “Ali” Miller – Louisville/Jefferson County: Nominated by Nikkey Blackman
  • Randall Richardson – Louisville/Jefferson County: Nominated by Nicole Smith
  • Kendall Ross – Louisville/Jefferson County: Nominated by Nicole Smith
  • Chris Schimmoeller – Frankfort/Franklin County: Nominated by Brent Sweger
  • Peggy Schutzman – Walton/Boone County: Nominated by Lauren Palmer

Exemplary KCCVS Commissioners and Program Directors:

  • Aaron Anderkin – Lexington/Fayette County: Commissioner from 2006-2014, Chair from 2009-2011
  • Sue Brammer – Maysville/Mason County: Commissioner from 2010-2016, Program Committee member, current grant reviewer
  • Ronnie Dunn – Frankfort/Franklin County: Commissioner from 2011-2015, Program Committee Member, current grant reviewer
  • Janet Gates – Frankfort/Franklin County: Commissioner from 2008-2015, Vice Chair, Program Committee member, current grant reviewer
  • Jamine Hamner – Lexington/Fayette County: Commissioner from 2008-2016, Program Committee member, current Grant Reviewer
  • Mary Sue Hubbard – Murray/Calloway County: Commissioner from 2010-2016, former Governor Awards Committee Chair
  • Betty Martin – Frankfort/Franklin County: Commissioner from 2008-2014, Program Committee member
  • Jana Sturm – Frankfort/Franklin County: Commissioner from 1999-2013
  • Eugene Newsome - Pikeville/Pike County: UNITE Service Corps Program Director from 2007-2015


About & Help


Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Logo

© 2015 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.


Back to Top