Gov. Bevin Joins 19-State Coalition Urging EPA to End Systematic Federal Overreach

Contact: Woody Maglinger


FRANKFORT, Ky. (March 7, 2017) - In a letter to U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Administrator Scott Pruitt, Gov. Matt Bevin, 17 state attorneys general, and the governor of Mississippi today called for an end to the federal overreach that characterized the EPA’s unlawful regulatory actions during the Obama-era. Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton led the initiative. 

“In recent years, many federal environmental regulations have been the product of political and social ideology, rather than sound science,” said Gov. Matt Bevin. “Today, our administration joined with other states in a letter urging EPA Administrator Scott Pruitt to roll back federal overreach and return primary responsibility for the care of our environment to the appropriate state agencies. The environmental professionals within our own state agencies are well qualified, well trained and best suited to address environmental concerns in Kentucky.” 

The states who joined Kentucky in the letter include Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, West Virginia, and Wyoming, along with Mississippi (through their governor). 

“From our perspective, the recent overreach by the Agency amounts to a striking departure from the Clean Air and Clean Water Acts,” the state leaders wrote. “Respectfully, we ask that you consider the steps that the Agency may take to restore the principles of cooperative federalism embodied in these important statutes.” 

To view a copy of the letter, click here



About & Help


Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Logo

© 2018 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.


Back to Top