Gov. Bevin Makes Appointments to Kentucky Boards and Commissions

Media Contact: Nicole Burton

FRANKFORT, Ky. (April 5, 2019) – Gov. Matt Bevin has made the following appointments to Kentucky Boards and Commissions:

Matthew Russell Hinton has been appointed as a member of the Agricultural Development Board.

  • Matthew Russell Hinton, of Flemingsburg, is a business owner. He will represent the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce and serve for a term expiring July 6, 2019.

The Agricultural Development Board serves to distribute 50% of the state’s monies received form the Masters Settlement Agreement for the general purpose of agricultural development within the Commonwealth. The Board invests these funds into innovative proposals to increase net farm income and effect tobacco farmers, tobacco-impacted communities and agriculture across the state by stimulating markets for Kentucky agricultural products, finding new ways to add value to Kentucky agricultural products, and exploring new opportunities for Kentucky farms.

Andrew Michael Chandler, Chris Skates, Larry Christopher Taylor, McKenzie Benkner and Michael Alan Jones have been appointed as members of the Kentucky Emergency Response Commission.

  • Andrew Michael Chandler, of Versailles, is an emergency manager. He will represent local government and serve for a term expiring April 17, 2021.
  • Chris Skates, of Lawrenceburg, is a communications advisor for the Governor. He will represent environmental interests and serve for a term expiring April 17, 2021.
  • Larry Christopher Taylor, of Versailles, is an environmental scientist consultant. He will represent the Energy and Environment Cabinet and serve for a term expiring April 17, 2021.
  • McKenzie Benkner, of Somerset, is a business owner. He will represent industry and serve for a term expiring April 17, 2021.
  • Michael Alan Jones, of Lawrenceburg, is a Kentucky Department of Military Affairs representative. He will represent persons with technical expertise in the emergency response field and serve for a term expiring April 17, 2021.

The Kentucky Emergency Response Commission is charged with developing policies related to the response of state and local governments to releases of hazardous substances and developing standards of planning for these events. It also develops reporting requirements for those who manufacture, use, transfer or store these substances. The group provides information to the public concerning hazardous substances within the communities, develops training requirements and establishes requirements for local governments and covered facilities to exercise plans related to hazardous substance response.




About & Help


Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Logo

© 2018 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.

Back to Top