Gov. Bevin Makes Appointments to Kentucky Boards and Commissions

Media Contact: Nicole Burton

FRANKFORT, Ky. (June 25, 2019) – Gov. Matt Bevin has made the following appointments to Kentucky Boards and Commissions:

Andrew J. Cole has been appointed as a member of the Kentucky Board of Licensure for Fee-Based Pastoral Counselors.

  • Andrew J. Cole, of Burlington, is a campus ministry director. He will represent citizens at-large and serve for a term expiring Sept. 22, 2022.

The Kentucky Board of Licensure for Fee-Based Pastoral Counselors consists of five members that are appointed by the Governor. The Board regulates and controls the licensing and conduct of fee-based pastoral counselors within the Commonwealth.

Joseph Daniel Miday has been appointed as a member of the Kentucky Boxing and Wrestling Commission.

  • Joseph Daniel Miday, of Prospect, is an entrepreneur. He will represent sports marketing and promotion and serve for a term expiring May 16, 2022.

The Kentucky Boxing and Wrestling Commission oversees all professional boxing, wrestling and full-contact competitive bouts and exhibitions held in Kentucky. It licenses contestants, officials and promoters. The Commission is attached to the Department of Public Protection for administrative purposes.

Timothy Aaron Tong has been appointed as a member of the Geographic Information Advisory Council.

  • Timothy Aaron Tong, of Lexington, is a survey division manager. He will represent the Kentucky Association of Land Surveyors and serve for a term expiring Sept. 22, 2021.

The Geographic Information Advisory Council advises the executive director of the Commonwealth Office of Technology on issues relating to geographic information and geographic information systems. The Council also establishes and adopts policies and procedures that assist state and local jurisdictions in developing, deploying, and leveraging geographic information resources and geographic information systems technology for the purpose of improving public.

Michael J. Schmitt has been appointed as chairperson of the Public Service Commission.

  • Michael J. Schmitt, of Paintsville, is a Public Service Commission attorney. He will serve as chairperson and serve for a term expiring July 1, 2023.

The Public Service Commission ensures that every utility customer receives fair and reasonable rates and that all services are adequate and efficient. The PSC has jurisdiction over the regulation of rates and service of all utilities in the state except those utilities subject to the control of cities or political subdivisions. The PSC consists of three members appointed by the Governor to four-year staggered terms.

Gwendolyn C. Collins has been appointed as a member of the Financial Institutions Board.

  • Gwendolyn C. Collins, of Lexington, is a retired financial consultant. She will serve for a term expiring Oct. 10, 2020.

The Financial Institutions Board is an agency within the Environmental and Public Protection Cabinet and is made up of 12 gubernatorial appointees. The Board is responsible for the licensing, chartering, and regulation of the activities performed by the state chartered/licensed depository and non-depository financial institutions. The Board is also in charge of administrating the activities by individuals and firms who sell or provide advice on securities to residents of the Commonwealth.