Chief Justice Minton to give 2019 State of the Judiciary Address before Interim Joint Committee on Judiciary Sept. 13

FRANKFORT, Ky., Aug. 30, 2019 – The legislature, public and media will receive an update on Judicial Branch operations on Friday, Sept. 13, when Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr. gives the annual State of the Judiciary Address.

He will speak before the General Assembly’s Interim Joint Committee on Judiciary at 10 a.m. ET in the Capitol Annex, Room 154, 702 Capital Ave., Frankfort. The event is open to the public and the media.

Chief Justice Minton will use the 2019 State of the Judiciary Address to talk about a wide range of court programs and initiatives. The topics will include the move to establish Business Courts, the work of the Civil Justice Reform Commission and the Court Efficiency Committee, progress being made on electronic court records, how the Administrative Office of the Courts is continuing to implement audit recommendations, and how the courts are helping to address Kentucky’s opioid epidemic through the Regional Judicial Opioid Initiative and the RESTORE Initiative.

KET will livestream the meeting of the Interim Joint Committee on Judiciary, which will include Chief Justice Minton delivering the State of the Judiciary Address. View the livestream during the meeting Friday. To watch the coverage later, visit the archive section of KET's website. KET typically archives its coverage the day after streaming.

Chief Justice Minton's full address will be posted here shortly after the conclusion of his remarks.

The chief justice is the administrative head of the state court system and is responsible for overseeing its operation. Chief Justice Minton was elected to the Supreme Court in 2006. His fellow justices elected him to serve a third four-year term as chief justice in 2016. He is chair of the board for the State Justice Institute, a federal nonprofit corporation that awards grants to improve the quality of justice in state courts. He is also a past president of the Conference of Chief Justices and past chair of the National Center for State Courts Board of Directors.