1,340 students entered annual contest


FRANKFORT, Ky. (Nov. 24, 2013) – Students from Williamstown Independent Schools in Grant County, Drakes Creek Middle School in Warren County, Ponderosa Elementary in Boyd County and Kelly Elementary in Boone County took first place in the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s 2013 Adopt-a-Highway poster contest.


“The purpose of the contest is to increase environmental awareness among children,” Transportation Secretary Mike Hancock said. “We hope to educate our young people about the damaging effects of litter, and to change attitudes and behaviors about littering.”


The first-place winner in each of four categories receives a $100 gift card, while second-, and third-place winners each receive a $50 gift card. All the winners receive framed prints of their posters. Awards were presented at a luncheon ceremony today at the Governor’s Mansion in Frankfort. 


The winners are:


6-8 age category

1st place           Tena Reed                   Kelly Elementary, Boone County

2nd place          Addyson Berry           Bourbon Central, Bourbon County

3rd place           Aly Cain                      St. Joseph Academy, Boone County


9-11 age category

1st place           Morgan Leigh Lewis   Ponderosa Elementary, Boyd County

2nd place          Caitlin Ousley             Williamstown Independent Schools, Grant County

3rd place           Yessenia Chapeta        Caywood Elementary, Kenton County


12-14 age category

1st place           Keiko Nishijima          Drakes Creek Middle School, Warren County

2nd place          Gracie Blaine              Williamstown Independent Schools

3rd place           Jade Pinkston              Williamstown Independent Schools


15-17 age category

1st place           Nicole Giesbers           Williamstown Independent Schools

2nd place          Eden Jackson              Williamstown Independent Schools

3rd place           Jessica Dunham           Randall K. Cooper High School, Boone County


The Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) received 1,340 Adopt-a-Highway poster contest entries from students throughout the Commonwealth.  Calendars featuring the winners’ posters will be provided to all the winners and their classrooms.


Secretary Hancock headed the team of judges, which included Georgetown College art galleries director Jeanette Tesmer, Kentucky State University assistant professor of sculpture Scott Ross, KYTC Public Affairs executive director Chuck Wolfe, KYTC graphics designer Jeremy Wooldridge and Miranda Thacker, KYTC Adopt-a-Highway state coordinator.  Judges did not know the identities of the artists or their schools.


“With so many excellent posters this year and a tremendous amount of entries submitted, it was really hard to judge,” Secretary Hancock said.  “We appreciate all the hard work and effort the students put into their posters. Every entry is a winner.”


The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet urges students and teachers to get an early start on the 2014 poster contest. The cabinet will begin accepting entries March 1, 2014. The entries will close on Sept. 30, 2014.

NOTE:  To view the winning posters, log onto http://transportation.ky.gov/Adopt-a-Highway/Pages/2013-Art-Contest-Winners.aspx.




About & Help


Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Logo

© 2015 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.


Back to Top