Gov. Steve Beshear has proclaimed June 1 through 7 Kentucky Statehood Week, in recognition of the 222nd anniversary of Kentucky becoming the nation’s 15th state. Kentucky entered the union on June 1, 1792, comprising a region that was formerly part of Virginia.

The Kentucky Historical Society is leading the birthday celebration with a series of events at Rotary Clubs statewide honoring communities that have been strong partners in advocating for the power of history in addressing the challenges of tomorrow. Cities being visited include Paintsville, Bowling Green, Henderson, Louisville and Paducah.

At each stop, KHS will announce the launch of new historical marker tours on the ExploreKYHistory app and show one of the earliest copies of Kentucky’s constitution. Experts will be available to answer questions.

The statehood week celebrations culminate on “Boone Day,” June 7, at the Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History in Frankfort. June 7 marks the day in 1769 that frontiersman Daniel Boone first saw the land that was to become Kentucky.

Boone Day at the Clark Center for Kentucky History will include a special discussion on Kentucky’s future, featuring award-winning novelist, poet and farmer Wendell Berry and Dr. James Klotter, state historian. KET commentator Renee Shaw will moderate the program. President Lincoln’s Own Band from the Spielberg movie “Lincoln” will also perform.

For more information on the statewide celebration, contact Laurel Harper, marketing communications director, 502-264-1792 ext. 4489, laurel.harper@ky.gov.



The Kentucky Historical Society, an agency of the Kentucky Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet, was established in 1836 and is committed to helping people understand, cherish and share Kentucky’s history. The KHS history campus includes the Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History, the Old State Capitol and the Kentucky Military History Museum at the State Arsenal. For more information about KHS and its programs, visit history.ky.gov.





About & Help


Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Logo

© 2015 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.


Back to Top