Roads continue to improve with increasing temperatures


FRANKFORT, Ky. (March 4, 2014) – Kentucky Transportation Cabinet highway crews continue extensive snow and ice operations today across the Commonwealth.


Most priority A routes including interstates and parkways are clear. Many B and C routes throughout the Commonwealth remain partly or completely covered. Crews have worked around the clock to keep routes passable. 


Motorists should expect some slick spots and black ice on cleared priority routes.


The cabinet reminds motorists to:

·         Exercise greater caution when driving. Slow down.

·         Be prepared for slick conditions.

·         Give a wide berth to snow plows and other heavy highway equipment.

·         Eliminate distractions while behind the wheel.


Condition reports on major routes are available by calling 511 or by logging onto the 511 traffic and travel information website, 511.ky.gov.


Please access the following link to view the priority county route maps in Kentucky:



The cabinet’s SAFE Patrol is available to assist motorists whose vehicles become disabled on Kentucky interstates and parkways. For SAFE Patrol assistance, call 511 or toll-free at 1-877-FOR-KYTC (1-877-367-5982).


Snow Activity by Highway District

District 1 (Paducah):

Plowing & treating: Ballard, Calloway, Carlisle, Crittenden, Fulton, Graves, Hickman, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken, and Trigg

District 2 (Madisonville):

Plowing & treating:
Caldwell, Christian, Daviess, Hancock, Henderson, Hopkins, McLean, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Union, and Webster

District 3 (Bowling Green):

Plowing & treating:
Allen, Barren, Butler, Edmonson, Logan, Metcalfe, Monroe, Simpson, Todd, and Warren

District 4 (Elizabethtown):

Plowing & treating:
Breckinridge, Grayson, Green, Larue, Nelson, Taylor, and Washington

Patrolling: Meade

District 6 (Covington):

Plowing & treating:
All District 6 counties are plowing and treating

District 7 (Lexington):

Spot Treatment:
Clark, Scott, and Woodford

Plowing & treating: Anderson, Bourbon, Boyle, Garrard, Jessamine, Madison, Mercer, and Montgomery

Patrolling: Fayette

District 8 (Somerset):


Plowing & treating: Adair, Casey, Clinton, Cumberland, Lincoln, McCreary, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, and Wayne

District 9 (Flemingsburg):

Plowing & treating:
Bath, Boyd, Carter, Elliott, Fleming, Greenup, Lewis, Mason, Nicholas, and Rowan

District 10 (Jackson):

Plowing & treating:
Breathitt, Estill, Lee, Magoffin, Menifee, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Powell, and Wolfe

District 11 (Manchester):

Plowing & treating:
Clay, Harlan, Jackson, Laurel, and Leslie

District 12 (Pikeville):

Plowing & treating:
Floyd, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Letcher, Martin, and Pike




About & Help


Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Logo

© 2015 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.


Back to Top