Attorney General Jack Conway announced that six Kentucky counties were chosen in a random drawing this afternoon to undergo independent inquiries for any potential irregularities that may have occurred during the general election on Tuesday, November 6. The counties are:

  1. Grayson
  2. Bracken
  3. Johnson
  4. Lewis
  5. Bath
  6. Bourbon

"These audits supplement the work our investigators and prosecutors did on the ground leading up to the general election, and the process, as defined by Kentucky law, will ensure that voters in every corner of our Commonwealth encounter procedures at polling places that are fair and equitable," General Conway said.

The post-election audits, which are required by law (KRS 15.243), will be conducted by the Office of the Attorney General. Pursuant to KRS 15.243 (3),(a), the Kentucky Attorney General is required to conduct a post-election audit investigation in no fewer than five percent of Kentucky's counties following each primary and general election. The counties are selected in a public drawing that must be done within 20 days of the election. In each county, these routine inquiries will include checking election forms and interviewing county officials. The selection of these counties does not imply that irregularities are suspected. Morgan, Meade, Marion, Rowan, Mason and Clinton were exempt from being chosen in today's drawing because they were audited after the primary election in May of 2012. The May audits did not find any irregularities that were forwarded to local prosecutors.

In addition to the post-election audit investigation, follow-up investigations are continuing regarding complaints to the Election Fraud Hotline, which received 235 complaints during the General Election cycle. Specifics of those calls cannot be released until the review is complete.

On Election Day, investigators and attorneys from the Office of the Attorney General monitored polling places in each of Kentucky's six congressional districts.



About & Help


Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Logo

© 2015 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.


Back to Top