FRANKFORT, Ky. -- The Kentucky Court of Appeals will hear a Fayette County civil case on appeal when it convenes Tuesday, June 10, in Stanford. Proceedings are open to the public and will begin at 2:30 p.m. EDT in the Circuit Courtroom of the Lincoln County Judicial Center at 101 E. Main St.

A three-judge panel composed of Court of Appeals Judges Michael Caperton, Denise G. Clayton and Christopher Shea Nickell will hear oral arguments in BETH ANN J. KLOIBER v DANIEL KLOIBER DYNASTY TRUST. Beth Ann J. Kloiber is appealing a Fayette Circuit Court ruling that dismissed her case, which included claims of fraudulent conveyance of marital assets and breach of fiduciary duty.

Nearly all cases heard by the Kentucky Court of Appeals come to it on appeal from a lower court. If a case is tried in Circuit Court or District Court and the losing parties involved are not satisfied with the outcome, they may ask for a higher court to review the correctness of the trial court’s decision. Some cases, such as criminal case acquittals and divorces, may not be appealed. In a divorce case, however, child custody and property rights decisions may be appealed. Cases are not retried in the Court of Appeals. Only the record of the original court trial is reviewed, with attorneys presenting the legal issues to the court for a decision.

Fourteen judges, two elected from seven appellate court districts, serve on the Court of Appeals. The judges are divided into panels of three to review and decide cases, with the majority determining the decision. The panels do not sit permanently in one location, but travel throughout the state to hear cases.

Administrative Office of the Courts
The Administrative Office of the Courts in Frankfort is the operations arm for the state court system. The AOC supports the activities of nearly 3,300 court system employees and 403 elected justices, judges and circuit court clerks. As the fiscal agent for the state court system, the AOC executes the Judicial Branch budget.



About & Help


Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Logo

© 2015 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.


Back to Top