Judicial Nominating Commission announces nominees for McCracken County District Court judgeship

FRANKFORT, Ky., Sept. 29, 2017 – The Judicial Nominating Commission, led by Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr., today announced nominees to fill a vacancy in the office of District Court judge in the 2nd Judicial District, Division 1. This judgeship serves McCracken County. The vacancy was created by the appointment of District Judge W.A. Kitchen to the office of Circuit Court judge for the 2nd Judicial Circuit, Division 2, effective Aug. 17, 2017.

The three nominees are attorneys Todd Stewart Jones, Joe Christopher “Chris” McNeill and Charles David Walter, all of Paducah.

Jones is an assistant county attorney for McCracken County. He previously served with the Kentucky Department of Public Advocacy. He received his juris doctor from the Northern Kentucky University Salmon P. Chase College of Law.

McNeill is currently serving with the Kentucky Department of Public Advocacy. He previously worked for several law firms and was a staff attorney for the Kentucky Court of Appeals. He received his juris doctor from the Northern Kentucky University Salmon P. Chase College of Law.

Walter practices law with Boehl, Stopher & Graves, LLP, in Paducah. He was previously affiliated with Craig & Craig Attorneys at Law in Mount Vernon, Ill. He earned his juris doctor from the Southern Illinois University School of Law.

District Court
District Court judges handle juvenile matters, city and county ordinances, misdemeanors, violations, traffic offenses, probate of wills, arraignments, felony probable cause hearings, small claims involving $2,500 or less, civil cases involving $5,000 or less, voluntary and involuntary mental commitments and cases relating to domestic violence and abuse.

Judicial Nominating Commission
The Judicial Nominating Commission helps fill judicial vacancies by appointment when a vacancy occurs outside of the election cycle. The Kentucky Constitution established the JNC. Ky. Const. § 118; SCR 6.000, et seq.

Judicial Nominating Process
When a judicial vacancy occurs, the executive secretary of the JNC publishes a notice of vacancy in the judicial circuit or the judicial district affected. Attorneys may recommend someone or nominate themselves. The names of the applicants are not released. Once nominations occur, the individuals interested in the position return a questionnaire to the Office of the Chief Justice. Chief Justice Minton then meets with the Judicial Nominating Commission to choose three nominees. Because the Kentucky Constitution requires that three names be submitted to the governor, in some cases the commission submits an attorney’s name even though the attorney did not apply. A letter naming the three nominees is sent to the governor for review. The governor has 60 days to appoint a replacement and his office makes the announcement.

Makeup of the Judicial Nominating Commission
The commission has seven members. The membership is comprised of the chief justice of Kentucky (who also serves as chair), two lawyers elected by all the lawyers in their circuit/district and four Kentucky citizens who are appointed by the governor. The four citizens appointed by the governor must equally represent the two major political parties, so two must be Democrats and two must be Republicans. It is the responsibility of the commission to submit a list of three names to the governor and the governor must appoint a judge from this list of three.

Administrative Office of the Courts
The Administrative Office of the Courts in Frankfort is the operations arm for the state court system. The AOC supports the activities of nearly 3,400 court system employees and 404 elected justices, judges and circuit court clerks. As the fiscal agent for the state court system, the AOC executes the Judicial Branch budget.



About & Help


Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Logo

© 2015 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.


Back to Top