Judicial Nominating Commission announces nominees for Boyd County Circuit Court judgeship

FRANKFORT, Ky., Nov. 29, 2017 – The Judicial Nominating Commission, led by Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr., today announced nominees to fill the vacancy in Boyd County Circuit Court. Boyd County is in the 32nd Judicial Circuit and the vacancy is in the circuit’s 2nd Division.

The three nominees for the Circuit Court judgeship are attorneys Roger W. Hall, Kevin Patrick Sinnette and John Fredrick Vincent, all of Ashland.
Hall is a sole practitioner and serves as the master commissioner for Boyd County. He received his juris doctor from the University of North Carolina School of Law.
Sinnette serves as the state representative for Boyd County and the assistant attorney for the city of Ashland. He received his juris doctor from Northern Kentucky University’s Salmon P. Chase College of Law.
Vincent is a partner in the law firm of Martin and Vincent and serves as the attorney for the city of Ashland. He previously served as the state representative for Boyd County. He received his juris doctor from the University of Kentucky College of Law.
The judicial seat became vacant when Judge C. David Hagerman retired Sept. 16.

Circuit Court
Circuit Court is the court of general jurisdiction that hears civil matters involving more than $5,000, capital offenses and felonies, divorces, adoptions, termination of parental rights, land dispute title cases and contested probate cases.

Judicial Nominating Commission
The Judicial Nominating Commission helps fill judicial vacancies by appointment when a vacancy occurs outside of the election cycle. The Kentucky Constitution established the JNC. Ky. Const. § 118; SCR 6.000, et seq.

Judicial Nominating Process
When a judicial vacancy occurs, the executive secretary of the JNC publishes a notice of vacancy in the judicial circuit or the judicial district affected. Attorneys may recommend someone or nominate themselves. The names of the applicants are not released. Once nominations occur, the individuals interested in the position return a questionnaire to the Office of the Chief Justice. Chief Justice Minton then meets with the Judicial Nominating Commission to choose three nominees. Because the Kentucky Constitution requires that three names be submitted to the governor, in some cases the commission submits an attorney’s name even though the attorney did not apply. A letter naming the three nominees is sent to the governor for review. The governor has 60 days to appoint a replacement and his office makes the announcement.

Makeup of the Judicial Nominating Commission
The commission has seven members. The membership is comprised of the chief justice of Kentucky (who also serves as chair), two lawyers elected by all the lawyers in their circuit/district and four Kentucky citizens who are appointed by the governor. The four citizens appointed by the governor must equally represent the two major political parties, so two must be Democrats and two must be Republicans. It is the responsibility of the commission to submit a list of three names to the governor and the governor must appoint a judge from this list of three.

Administrative Office of the Courts
The Administrative Office of the Courts in Frankfort is the operations arm for the state court system. The AOC supports the activities of nearly 3,400 court system employees and 404 elected justices, judges and circuit court clerks. As the fiscal agent for the state court system, the AOC executes the Judicial Branch budget.



About & Help


Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Logo

© 2015 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.


Back to Top