Six More Schools Receive State Park Transportation Grants

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Oct. 18, 2016) – The Kentucky State Park Foundation has approved transportation grants for students at six schools who will be visiting state parks during the current school year.


The KSPF’s “Inside Out Education” initiative allows schools to seek the grant that allows students to learn about the environment, history or culture at a Kentucky State Park. During the last two years, the program has awarded 34 grants allowing 2,064 Kentucky students to visit a state park.


“This grant program is an excellent example of how our Kentucky State Park Foundation helps our young people and our state parks,” Parks Commissioner Donnie Holland said. “These trips are great educational experiences for these students and we hope they become supporters of the park system.”


The schools that received grants and the parks they plan to visit include:


Brookside Elementary (Jessamine County) to Fort Boonesborough State Park
Hillard Collins Elementary (Boone County) to Fort Boonesborough State Park
Beechgrove Elementary (Kenton County) to Big Bone Lick State Historic Site
Bullitt East High School (Bullitt County) to My Old Kentucky Home State Park
Howell Elementary (Erlanger-Elsmere Independent) to Big Bone Lick State Historic Site
Barbourville Independent School to Dr. Thomas Walker Historic Site and Pine Mountain State Resort Park



Information about grant applications for the 2016-2017 school year is available at https://www.kentuckystateparksfoundation.org/grants/. The next deadline for grant applications is Feb. 1, 2017.





Contact: Gil Lawson, gil.lawson@ky.gov 

502-564-8110, ext. 168



The Kentucky State Park System is composed of 49 state parks plus an interstate park shared with Virginia. The Department of Parks, an agency of the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet, operates 17 resort parks with lodges -- more than any other state. For more information on Kentucky parks, visit our website at http://www.parks.ky.gov



About & Help


Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Logo

© 2015 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.


Back to Top